Bayard Brooklyn Tweed Hat

I picked this pattern and yarn up last fall at the “Vogue Knit Live” event in Chicago. A vendor from St. Paul, Minnesota had a sample of this chic hat and I wanted to knit it. I finally got around to making it this summer. I do not bother with knitting a test swatch because I know that my gauge is bound to be off from what a pattern says. For this reason I generally size down in knitting needles. As I knit this I could tell it was going to be huge but didn’t worry because with wool there is always felting. After finishing the hat I took a before felting picture and then an after. It’s still very cute but has a slightly different look and drape. I imagine that one would have to knit very tight in order to achieve the gauge of the pattern. Most of the hat was 184 stitches in the round which is a lot! I like to knit looser with smaller needles.

The pattern and wool from Brooklyn Tweed- so cute! Must knit.

Work in progress. The back has this interesting slipped section and is perfect to camouflage color changes.

Huge! Love the decreasing detail.

Another nice detail- twisted rib cuff.

Before felting. It’s an animal? It’s alive?

After felting. It has a different look but is still cute.

Side by side comparison. Before and after felting.

Leave a Reply

